How to Become a Licensed Real Estate Agent in Louisiana

Louisiana Real Estate License Basic Requirements

  • You need to be at least 18 years of age (if you will turn 18 in the same year, you can still sit for the exam).
  • You need a high school diploma or an equivalent degree.
  • Complete 90 hours worth of the pre-licensing curriculum.
  • Submit documents for a complete FBI criminal background check.
  • Clear the Louisiana Licensing Exam with a score higher than 75%.
  • Find a licensed broker to sponsor you.
  • Get Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance.

LA Real Estate License Costs

  • Cost of acquiring Louisiana Real Estate license: The cost of the exam is $85, and there are other fixed and variable costs in addition to that.

Helpful Tips


STEP 1: Pre-licensing Education

Prior to applying for a real estate agent license in Louisiana, you need to complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education from an education provider that has been approved by the Louisiana state. You do not need to go to a physical campus to complete this course.

There are several institutes that offer the course material online. The CE Shop is one of the best options for this. The course will take you through some of the fundamentals of being a real estate agent in Louisiana. Some of the crucial topics include “Forms of Ownership”, “Title and Title Transfer”, “Interests” and “Estates”, etc.

Once you are done with the course, you will need to clear a final exam that will certify that you have cleared the course and finished your required 90 hours. The minimum percentage required to clear this exam is 75%. This exam will be conducted in the presence of a proctor. If you are taking the exam online, arrangements for a proctor will be made accordingly.

Once you have cleared this final exam, you need a certificate and transcript that declares that you have cleared it. Most online programs will offer electronic certificates and transcripts which you will need to apply for the exam and license.


STEP 2: Get Background Check and Apply For Exam

Background Check

The background check is a crucial step without which you cannot proceed in your application. This is a way for the state to keep tabs on who is being provided a license and what the record says about them. For most other states, you are expected to head to your local law enforcement agency and have your fingerprints taken. However, in Louisiana, the state has a tie-up with an agency that may expect you to follow a different protocol.

The next step is to submit your fingerprints to Clearbox, LLC. The LREC is contracted with this firm to conduct a background check on all initial license applicants. Since the background checks will expire 120 days after it has been issued, it is advised that you apply for it after you have cleared the pre-license evaluation. The details of what the protocol is with Clearbox has been provided here.

Legally, you cannot be stopped from applying for a real estate agent license if you have a past criminal record. However, you are expected to declare if you have any criminal records. The state may ask you for documents regarding your conviction.

Application

Once you have cleared your background check, you can go ahead and apply for the test. Your completed application needs to be attached with the completed fingerprint card which Clearbox will provide you with after assessment. The state exam will cost $85. Once your application is complete you will be provided with a certificate of eligibility, which you will be required to bring to the examination center on the day of the state test.


STEP 3: Passing the State License Exam

The Louisiana Licensing Exam will have two parts. The time limit set on the exam is 180 minutes, of which 105 minutes have been allotted to national or general questions, and 75 minutes have been allotted for state-specific questions.

You need a passing score of 56 in the national section, and of 40 in the state-specific section. Your score will appear on the screen immediately after the examination. Though it will happen automatically when the time allotted for the exam ends, if you submit your paper earlier, you can use review features to indicate that you have finished and would like your results to appear on the screen. If you do not clear the exam, you will get a diagnostic report that indicates your strengths and weaknesses.

Topics to Cover

General portion:

  • Property ownership
  • Real estate calculations
  • Contracts
  • Transfer of Title
  • Practice of real estate
  • Land use controls and regulations
  • Financing
  • Leasing and property management
  • General principles of agency
  • Valuation and market analysis
  • Property disclosures

State-specific portion:

  • Disclosures and agency issues
  • Property management
  • Real estate commission
  • License law requirements for contracts
  • Requirement for a license
  • Brokerage activities and requirements

What to Bring to the Venue

The following are things you are required to bring to the venue when you come for the examination.

  • One government-issued photo identification that has a photograph and a signature (passport, driver’s license, etc).
  • Another ID that has your legal name and a preprinted signature.
  • The Certificate of Examination Eligibility from Louisiana Real Estate Commission.
  • Only silent, non-programmable calculators are permitted.

Note: Identifications like birth certificate, college ID, employment ID, etc. are not valid for the purpose of this examination.


STEP 4: Finding a Sponsor

Once you have cleared your examination and applied for a license, you should also start looking for a sponsor simultaneously. A sponsor is a managing broker who will be able to sponsor your license. This is a required experience under a registered brokerage so you can officially acquire your real estate license. However, you will need to take a few things into consideration when deciding your sponsor.

Commission Split

While the commission split seems to be one of the most important considerations while looking for a brokerage, it is not the only thing to consider. The idea is to find a commission percentage that justifies the amount of work you will be required to put in. Different companies have different policies when it comes to the commission split, but you should browse carefully to find an arrangement that suits you the best.

Company Reputation

The company reputation is one of the most important things to consider. You do not want to work with a company that is completely new in the market and has no prior experience. You want a company that has a decent name in the market and can also give you the kind of work environment that is conducive to your growth.

Support Offered

It is up to you to decide what kind of support you require. Some companies offer frequent training sessions and workshops for new recruits, while others encourage more independence and create an environment for you to work on your own and embark on a steeper but more fruitful learning curve. It is entirely up to you to decide the kind of support you are looking for.


STEP 5: Register With The LA Real Estate Commission

After this long but rewarding process, you can finally register with the Louisiana Real Estate Commission as a licensed real estate agent. You can find more information about how to obtain a license here. If you are looking for forms for application and for other procedures relating to your license registration, you can find information here.

The Louisiana real estate license fee is $85. Louisiana requires you to have an E&O insurance coverage, which you can obtain at this stage. An additional processing fee will be levied for your E&O insurance.


STEP 6: Post-learning Requirements

Your commitments to the state and the Louisiana Real Estate Commission do not end once you have acquired your license. The state needs to know that the agents they have recruited are up to date with the changes in the market and that their skills are not outdated.

After you acquire your license, there is a one-time requirement of 45 post-license education hours within 180 days from the initial license date. Again, these courses will be available at LREC education providers. All the details of your post-licensing education requirements are provided here.

The course topics covered in the curriculum will include:

  • Advertising
  • Disclosure
  • Risk Management
  • Commission Compliance
  • Agency
  • Fair Housing
  • Contracts
  • Finance
  • Technology and Data Security

In addition to this, you will also be required to complete 12 credit hours in each calendar year as part of your continuing education mandates. These are all important requirements to retain your license so the process is not over once a license has been registered in your name.

Reputed institutes like The CE Shop offer you a post-license course that will help you achieve the required certifications. This course is a 45-hour course that will cost you $125.

Hopefully, now, you’re all set to get started on your journey of being an accomplished real estate agent in Louisiana. The above steps should help right through the process and aid in decision making all the way through. Wishing you the best!

re agents logo

RE Agents Team