How to Become a Licensed Real Estate Agent in Delaware
Delaware Real Estate License Requirements
To apply for a real estate salesperson or agent license in the state of Delaware, you need to fulfill the following requirements.
- You are required by the state to take a 99-hour course. You can do this in person or online.
- If you have a license in another state and want one here, you will be applying for reciprocity. In that case, you need to take a 33-hour real estate law course.
- You need to submit a completed, signed and notarized application for the Real Estate Salesperson Licensing exam.
- You must enclose a non-refundable processing fee plus a $25 Guarantee Fund fee by check or money order payable to “State of Delaware”.
- You need to get a signed statement from a licensed broker stating that they sponsor you.
DE Real Estate License Costs
- Real Estate Agent Education in Delaware: $100
to $500 (approx.)
- Exam Fee: $85
- The Delaware Real Estate Commission’s Website.
- This is where you can find the Salesperson License Requirements updated as and when there are any changes.
- Here’s the application for the salesperson licensure in Delaware.
- This is where you can search for an existing license.
- This is where you can find the outlines of the exam in more detail.
STEP 1: DE Pre-licensing Education
The state of Delaware requires you to take a 99-hour pre-licensing course to be eligible to apply for the licensing examination. There are several schools which offer this course. It will cost you anywhere from $500-$650 depending on the package you choose. If you are seeking reciprocity, you need to take a 33-hour law course and it will cost you $100-$200.
Both the courses will have a final exam and you need 80% to pass the exam and get the mandatory course completion certificate. This test score needs to be reported to the Delaware Real Estate Commission within 15 days of completion.
STEP 2: Applying For The Delaware State License
Once you have passed the test and obtained the certificate of completion, you can apply for the Delaware state licensing exams. The first step in this process is to make an exam reservation. You need to do this at least 24 hours before the exam date. First timers must create an account with their legal name to book an appointment. You can also call at (800) 274-2604 for the same.
Before booking the slot, you need to have:
- Documents with your legal name, address, social security number, telephone number and date of birth.
- The name of the examination.
- Your preferred exam date and test center location.
- A certificate stating you completed your pre-licensing education.
- If you are seeking reciprocity, get the completion of the Client Waiver and approval back from Pearson VUE to waive the ‘general’ part of the exam.
You will need to pay a non-refundable and non-transferable fee of $85 when you are making the reservation. This can be done via credit card, debit card, voucher or electronically. You cannot pay it at the test center.
If you’re doing an e-payment, you need your own checking account. Be prepared to give details like
- Bank name
- Account number
- Routing number
- Driver’s license number, Social Security Number, or state ID number
- Name and address on the account
You will be refused entry if you are late but can be excused from the exam for the following reasons:
- If you or anyone from your immediate family is ill.
- If there’s been a death in the immediate family.
- If there’s been a disabling traffic accident.
- If you have jury duty or a court appearance.
- If you have military duty.
- If there is a weather emergency.
What to Bring to the Venue
All candidates seeking to take the exam must bring proper identification materials. Appropriate IDs are:
Primary ID (with photograph, signature and has not expired)
- Government-issued driver’s license
- State driver’s license
- US learner’s permit (plastic card with photo and signature)
- National/state/country ID card
- Passport Card
- Military ID
- Military ID for spouses and dependents
- Alien Registration Card (Green Card, Permanent Resident Visa)
Secondary ID (with signature and has not expired)
- Social Security card
- Debit or ATM card
- Credit card
The grace period of your ID’s expiration does not count.
You must be at the venue at least 30 minutes before the exam starts when the IDs will be checked. You are also required to sign a Candidate Rules Agreement. You will have four hours to complete the test and leave with an official score report. You will be given a tutorial on the computer before you start the exam but that is not a part of your exam time.
What Not to Bring to the Exam Venue
- No personal items.
- You can take a calculator only if it is silent, hand-held and without a keypad with the alphabet.
- No studying at the test center. So no study materials like pens and pencils or books and papers.
- No visitors in the exam center.
- No eating, drinking, smoking or chewing gum.
STEP 3: Pass the State License Test
The Delaware Real Estate Salesperson Exam is administered by Pearson VUE. It has a total of 130 questions that you need to answer in four hours. Once you finish the test, you will be given a yay or nay right away. The exam itself has two portions: general and state specific.
Unless specified in the question, you must calculate in:
- 43,560 square feet/acre
- 5,280 feet/mile
- Round off calculations (where applicable)
Outline of the general portion of the exam.
I. Real Property Characteristics, Legal Descriptions And Property Use (Sales 9; Broker 9)
II. Forms Of Ownership, Transfer And Recording Of Title (Sales 8; Broker 8)
III. Property Value And Appraisal (Sales 11; Broker 10)
IV. Real Estate Contracts And Agency (Sales 16; Broker 17)
V. Real Estate Practice (Sales 14; Broker 13)
VI. Property Disclosures And Environmental Issues (Sales 8; Broker 8)
VII. Financing And Settlement (Sales 7; Broker 7)
VIII. Real Estate Math Calculations (Sales 7; Broker 8)
And this is the outline of the state-specific portion of the exam.
I. Duties And Powers Of The Real Estate Commission (4 Items)
II. Licensing Requirements (3 Items)
III. Statutory Requirements Governing The Activities Of Licensees (17 Items)
IV. Additional State Topics (16 Items)
You will need to score a minimum of 80% in the exam to pass. Your score report will clearly state if you have passed or failed the test. It will also have instructions on how to apply for a license. If you fail the test, you only have to retake the portion of the exam you failed. If you fail the test three times then you have to retake the pre-licensing course.
STEP 4: Finding a Brokerage
There is a crucial step after passing the exam and before getting your license. You need to be sponsored by a licensed and active broker in Delaware. While there are many ways to find a brokerage and get started, you might want to do some research and find a firm that you want to stick with for as long as possible.
Real estate agents often switch companies within or after the first year. This is usually because their interests do not align with those of the company’s interests. In order to avoid getting into the situation, here are a few things you should keep in mind.
Find the right kind of brokerage. What does that mean? There are three types of brokerages, to begin with. National, boutique or independent, virtual or online.
A national-level brokerage has offices in different cities. It is big and has a reputation that will lend credibility to you when you are a newbie. These are also great places to network, which is very important in this business. A lot of national firms also provide training services to first timers.
It is a great place to learn. National brokerages can also help understand the operations at a large scale which in turn equip you to function at a greater scale, right off the bat. Larger firms are sometimes also tech savvy. They have a lot of resources to invest in the development of technology for their employees. National level firms also often come with employee benefits that are not offered by smaller firms.
But there are a few disadvantages. Sometimes, individual agents can be ignored due to the scale at which they function. There is also a chance that you would not be as valuable to them as an asset as you would be for a boutique brokerage. And speaking of independent brokerages…
Boutique or Independent Brokerage
These are small scale brokerages that are usually run by a single broker or a family. But do not underestimate them. When an independent firm does its networking and marketing well in the space that it operates, it can make a large number of sales and turn over a great deal of profit. This also gives the agents to shine.
A small boutique brokerage firm might not be as technologically savvy as a national firm but it gives its agents a valuable chance at learning and experimenting in terms of marketing. A boutique firm is also a great place to expand your skills and learn. They might not be tech-savvy firms but what they will have is room to improve. This might be your shot at making suggestions and changes. You could also modify commission structures to benefit both the company and the agents.
And it goes without saying that a boutique firm does not have the resources or brand value reach that a national firm has. It also cannot afford to give training and sponsor the education of its agents.
This is a relatively new but quite efficient a model. It is also preferred by many because it gives them the freedom to operate as an independent contractor. Virtual brokerages obviously have the advantage of being on top of the technological game. They can provide you with the best ways to get the job done from a computer in your house. They also don’t need to pay for physical office space so it leaves the company with a chunk that can make its way back to the agents.
This, of course, does not mean that they do or do not give benefits. It also has the disadvantage of not having colleagues with whom you can discuss ideas. It can easily be as tricky as it is convenient. Depends on the company. So please do extensive internet research on them.
STEP 5: Post-learning Requirements
Delaware is one of those states which has some post-licensing requirements too. After getting your license, you need to take another 12-hour course within the first year. This will cost you about $100-$110 if you take a package with theCEShop and can be done in four modules.
- Three hours in Module 1 (professional standards in real estate)
- Three hours in Module 2 (agreement of sale and buyer representation)
- Three hours in Module 3 (real estate documents and seller representation)
- Three hours in Module 4 (real estate professionalism)
This too can be done in person or online. The completion of this course must be reported to the state within seven to 10 days of completion. Including the post-licensing requirements, getting a real estate agent is quite hassle-free.